Happy La Cake!

by Khanum

 And I don’t know what the title means. It sounded nice, so I made it up.

But on the non-joking side: The true title of this post should be.

” The Secret Ingredient (no longer a secret) & The Great-facto Reasons why a Woman Bakes”.

  

The secret Ingredient of this Great cake ever made by ME is “I made it with faith and not by the book rules”. Which became my miracle. I had no oven to begin with , you see.  Whatever I had was ‘secret ingredient’.

Recipe:

2 cups of bla bla bla, 1 cup of more bla bla bla and 1 cup of that bla bla blah. You know the usual ingredients. Sugar, butter (ghee in most cases), white flour and eggs. Milk if required etc etc. So let’s skip the ordinary things.

Coming towards the mind boggling experimental things. I always make a cake without any measured ingredients.Fussing over exact measures ,  kills the chances of ‘following your instincts in kitchen’ and ala ka scram awesome surprises. (Again I have no clue what ala ka scram means, please pardon)

I mixed the basics, placed the mixture into the steel bowl and then did the daring part. We have a utensil called ‘Tawa’ with holes in it. I don’t know what they call it in English or even if it exists in other parts of the world except in Asia. But to give u an idea, its like a frying pan. But without any steel walls. We Asians make ‘Roti aka Chappati’ over it. Please Google.

My ‘Tawwa’ has holes in it for special reasons. We use it for specific dishes which requires certain special heating in order to cook properly. The holes allow the item placed upon it to have slow and nice heat and not direct and harsh.

I used another utensil, i.e. a cooking pot made of steel, pour 3 cups of water in it and let it warm up on slow heat over the ‘Tawwa’. When the water was slightly warm, I placed the bowl which had cake mixture in it , inside the cooking pot right in the middle. It looked like a round Titanic. Except that it didn’t drown. Make sure you don’t over flow the pot. If the water evaporates, you can always put more but don’t do it before hand. I Covered the cooking pot with the lid and waited for like eternity to have it baked.

At first I was sure I had failed. But as the time passed, the slow and soft heat did its magic. And voala!!! After 2 hours and about 30 minutes, my cake was ready.

The Decoration:

This again is a proof that I grew up watching BBC Food. I create, present and Shoot. 

Its very simple and easy. All you need is a creative mind and the heart to put some effort into things you do for the sake of good photography.

1 – The cream I used on cake is borrowed from the Puff Cakes a guest had brought earlier. It’s texture was very soft and light. And it also saved me the headache to spend money on fine cream.

2- The red spots which are giving the look as if its ice cream is a very famous drink in Pakistan. “Jam-e-shireen’. I sprinkled the sweet liquid over the cake with spoon and within minutes it was soaked by the great cream and cake. (I tried to make the pattern of a butterfly but it got wrecked)

3- The tiny colorful balls or whatever it is, was the only cake decoration item I had in store. Thanks to my Cousin Brother who bought me its jar when I bugged him at the super store.

4- And finally the last kick. Beautiful plastic butterfly on top of the cake. I swear, I would have adjusted even a pretty earring over it, if I had to.

And now the Great  7  Reasons why a Woman Bakes.

7- She’s a baker, ofcourse!

6- She’s definitely a wife of a baker. Fsh!

5- She wants to please her mother in law. So typical.

4- She just got fed up with her boring diet. Or better, she’s determined to make others fat.

3- She loves to Bake, Honestly. And it’s her happy medium.

2- She’s upset. Needs to relax.

1- And finally: Yup! Heartbroken.

As for me, I bake a cake after ages, and once I start, I keep doing it to stay happy and focused. And this cake was made because of Sam soon.  I was inspired by the Heroine of my Korean drama, who happened to be a Baker. Then I thought of my blogging adventures  and here I landed.

Ah..The Things I do for WordPress.

Anywho,  Happy La Cake Everyone! :)

And Once again I have no idea what this means.

10 Comments to “Happy La Cake!”

  1. I loved the pictures. And I think the best thing about cooking is that you enjoy it. I loved My Lovely Sam Soon, I am a bit of a Korean drama addict myself. And now I want a piece of cake. I think I will pick one up as I don’t want to bake when it’s hot. It’s just outside of my boundary of comfort right now. But I love to bake. I love it when it’s hot and I fill the house with yummy smells from the oven. Oh I love the cold weather, I love to make a nice supper complete with a hearty soup. Oh that sounds comforting to me. In the summer I am a wreck, it’s too hot to cook.

  2. Your creativity has rendered me speechless, Pervisha. Sach main. I’m in total awe and admiration over your creation. The presentation, the photography…everything is perfect, mashaAllah!

    “It looked like a round Titanic. Except that it didn’t drown.” Ha ha!

  3. Wow ..that looks yummmmmmmmmmy……u r unraveling your hidden talents :) awesome :)

  4. hahahah well u dont only need ur creativity and ingredients to bake the cake u also need 2 hrs n 30 mnts too :P u r fun u know :)

  5. Ooooohhhhhhh cake! Cake! Cake! *Moves excitedly on seat*
    You know what cakes can do to me Pervisha hehehehe!
    Love the pictures and the cake looks delish!
    You steamed it didn’t you? Bravo!
    I have only one reason for baking – I love cake. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 230 other followers

