Emergency Winter Appeal for Syria

by Khanum

 

Assalamo Alaikum everyone! I hope your winter is going well, warm and cozy. The worst perhaps is that you caught a flu or fever or a runny nose. But nothing that serious, right. You survived. There are people in this world who have nothing to cover themselves with in this harsh season. Many are unable to survive. While the number of masses is huge, from every country, The people hit by “civil war in Syria” is the top story on World news. At least for Muslims. After Palestinians and Ethiopians,  I believe, the Syrian children have also been struck by the miserable fate. They need basic necessities of life to survive.

Last month I was invited to attend a such fundraiser for Syrians. As it turned out, I also got the opportunity to volunteer at the event. The experiences I had there, were heartbreaking.  Event was about to start, yet hardly a dozen had arrived. The reason was short notice announcement of the fundraiser by the organizer society. Alright. No worries there. By the Grace of Allah, slowly but surely, people began to pour in. The hall seemed full of souls now. 20 minutes to start. I received a call from a family friend who hasn’t been in touch with me for like months,perhaps years. Happy, I attended the call immediately but to my surprise, the call was merely a joke to question the forwarded text I had sent them earlier informing about the fundraiser. I was being questioned as to why am I concerned about Syrians all of a sudden, and was advised that I must take care of myself first, then Pakistanis and then if my heart allows me , should I bother about people outside borders.

I knew now, why Muslim nation is facing a downfall. We can never be united under one banner. Banner for Humanity.

I’m not going to type my anger out at that funny call. Just out of respect, I am in favor to let it go. But this much I would definitely say, If anyone of you do not want to come forward and help for any reason, no worries, just quietly move aside. Don’t mock my dears,don’t make fun, don’t comment, just aram se let it go because we never know what action of ours may become the cause of our destruction in the sight of Allah swt. Whenever there’s a disaster in Pakistan, Our nation receives a flood of donations from around the globe, whether from Muslim or Non Muslims. Is it then anything wrong on our part if we , for once, try to help out people living outside our borders? Regardless of their ethnicity, color , religion or country of origin.

I have never attended any fundraiser for any civil war victims before, nor have I been aware of the organizers of the event before, but since a good friend of mine was the source of invitation for this event, all I had to say, keeping my schedule in check, was: Labbaik!

There are children out there, people. Children who are dying on hourly and daily basis. I don’t care who is right or wrong in this war but my religion teaches me that children are never to be harmed in any war between two groups.

People who attended the event donated in numerous forms. I was amazed by their compassion to come forward and donate. A guy, as I observed, gave away his silver engagement ring.

download (4)

A woman gave away her gold bangles after being motivated by the speech of the people on stage. While all they asked for is clothes! Yes. This winter appeal is basically to gather warm winter clothes and tents to send to the victims who are living in the open area without a proper roof on head.

I am writing this post to deliver you all, the message of this appeal. Please, come forward. If you feel satisfied with the organizers, donate. Gather warm clothing and just send it to the address mentioned below or contact the people who are doing this work. The time is short. 2 more weeks I believe, till this appeal closes down.

Contact #: 03214944098 , 03200453463 - Adeel Naeem

P.S. I hear Yusuf Chambers, is going to be a speaker at Winds of Change this month. Unfortunately I am unable to attend that event but any of you interested might want to check that out at Youth Club!

Tents, socks, sweaters, clothes, gloves just anything warm is welcome for donation.

Walaikum Salam!

I do not own the pictures presented in the post. 

6 Comments to “Emergency Winter Appeal for Syria”

  1. idk if they showed it,i saw a lil boy drinking milk from bitch to kill his hunger .we muslim body aint unite aint one any more and every day we go to sleep after eating to fullest

  2. Winds of change are comming to Peshawar Fast Uni on 18th feburary adnan rashid and John Fountain are comming there.i wish if yousaf chambers and that dude very 1st in the pic were also comming.i wont miss it In shaa Allah,the event will being at 9 am n my lab ends at 11 idk wat wil happen

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 227 other followers

