Let’s go to Egypt. Not.

by Khanum

It was my uncle’s idea to take me out and get some fresh air into my fever struck lungs. I, as usual, ready to photograph anything found this excuse useful, armed myself with my photography camera and jumped at the back seat of his car!

We were on our way to Visit a housing Society – a business very crucial – known as Bahria Town.

We stopped by to see the safari villas. 8 Marla house worth 70 Lakh rupees. It was a total luxurious beauty. Light surrounding the house from every corner and I felt My pictures couldn’t do justice to it.

The moment we entered the model house and the moment we stepped out from that place, It was a sure thing we are going to buy it.

few more paces, 1 kilometer away , the determination got a bit shakier. Bahria town is like a giant city within a city. My uncle suddenly started to think about the flaws of  such a far away residence from we currently reside.

“Who would come to visit us here, hain ji?’

Aliens!  I replied. And perhaps the ghost of my Dead grandmother. May Allah rest her soul in peace. God knows she loved our Hearne street Bungalow more than any house in the whole world. So moving here in Bahria Town could mean a serious upset for Nano jaan.

We roamed the place on car and then I finally got to see the place I had heard about.

WELCOME TO THE PHARAOH’S CITY!

Egyptian Style Bahria Town! A modern day housing society based on the architecture of Egypt’s oldest civilization. They have all the deities and their statues built at the big entrance gates . We wanted to go in and peek into the Villas but they were closed for maintenance reasons. And construction reasons and God knows what more reasons the person told us.

One Villa with a statue like that worth 4-5 crore.  Which made it clear. They had jewels plastered all over its walls. Hence no entry before u actually buy one.

JOKE!

Who would buy it anyway? Pharaoh’s lover.

I regret I couldn’t take more decent pictures. the ones I managed were all taken from inside the car. That too with the whining sounds and sighs of my family.   They had read some stupid sign saying ‘No Photography Allowed’  so i was forbidden to step out of the car. Such chicken behavior ticks me off.

You see? Statues every where! Are you getting what i’m saying?

Pharaoh’s lover, exactly!

It took us about 4-5 hours to get to see only the half of that Giant city within a city. Plus an hour or two the endless discussion with the property dealer. Only If I hadn’t been lured into photography trip, I wouldn’t have gone there in the first place. Too much of polytheism around for the sake of earning Money was making me more sick. But then, I really don’t have that much money to go to Nefertiti’s tomb and see the first hand statues so it was a good opportunity to see ‘Mini Egypt’.

Any lesson learnt?

Yes ofcourse!

‘Home sweet Home’ phrase wasn’t invented just like that. The moment we hit the big ‘Statue free’  Iron gate of our street, I couldn’t Thank enough My Lord for the luxuries I had been enjoying there for the past 22 years.

And the moment I stepped into my square, messy, filled with computer wires room. I knew I had every possible comfort right here. Perfection under limited resources. El Hamdulillah!

It’s not where you live, but how you live and with whom. 🙂

You may  Click Here to see the Egyptian Style Bahria Town’s photographs by Wikipedia. More detailed ones.

13 Responses to “Let’s go to Egypt. Not.”

  1. Woaaaah! That’s beautiful! And where was this?!
    You’re gonna buy it?

    • That’s in Lahore city, Pakistan where I live. A new Town known as Bahria Town. Yes we were interested in buying something there but it’s way too far away from the city hub. Not our cup of tea…! yet the trip was fun. 😀

      My Uncle perhaps may consider buying land there.

  2. Pervisha, I agree the place is amazing! And your pictures aren’t that bad 😉

  3. I would love to visit Egypt to see this older stuff. but perhaps later when the situation politically is better.

  4. Come on, your pictures are good! Hard to believe this place is in Pakistan; it’s so Dubai-like :p

    • Nadia what happened to your picture?
      ANd madam, 😛 Lahore is not less than dubai acha ! so what if we don’t have burj al dubai 😛

  5. Dear Khanum,
    I am regularly writing about Bahria Town since 2005 but this blog post of yours along with photographs is far more better than my work. Thanks a lot for sharing your views and wonderful style of writing. Simply amazing!
    Best regards,
    Hussain Kaisrani
    kaisrani.blogspot.com

    • Thankyou for ur feedback Mr H. K. M glad u liked my site and the review. I visited ur site in a hurry. you seem like a dedicated person working with bahria town?
      Best Regards

  6. Khanum i read your article its very useful why not you write some article for http://www.ebahriatown.com ?

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

