LUNAR BEAM BEFORE DUST STORM, 5TH RAMADAN 2011. PAKISTAN

by Khanum

23 Responses to “LUNAR BEAM BEFORE DUST STORM, 5TH RAMADAN 2011. PAKISTAN”

  1. SubhanAllah! I wish our skies were clearer here so I could at least get one single glimpse at the moon.

  2. Oh it’s beautiful, I love the moon too. Is there any special meaning to it during Ramadan? Sorry, I am not that familiar with it.

    • I m trying to photograph moon during Ramadan for just one particular reason. . It just looks blessed and beautiful. But if we talk about Islamic importance there’s just one thing, we Muslims have our own Calendar ..Say it The Islamic calendar or Muslim calendar or Hijri calendar it is a lunar calendar consisting of 12 lunar months in a year of 354 or 355 days. It is used to date events in many Muslim countries (concurrently with the Gregorian calendar), and used by Muslims everywhere to determine the proper day on which to celebrate Islamic holy days and festivals. You can Google it. Ramadan is actually an Islamic name for a month in Islamic calendar.
      The reason why Nadia and I and many Muslim lot gets excited to see the moon is because on special occasions, it’s hardly visible. And since we determine our festivals and holy days by lunar visibility, it becomes a kind of important for us in a way to witness the moon with our very own eyes.
      On the last day of Ramadan, you’ll find Muslims anxiously anticipating the visibility of moon. Because the end of Ramadan and beginning of EID is only marked if we see the moon. 🙂

      • Thanks so much for helping me to understand a little bit better. At first I wasn’t sure if it was OK to ask, out of respect, I didn’t want to sound intrusive. But I thought you would be generous and kind and help me to understand your way of life a bit better. I think that helps to understand your friends a bit better.
        I think most ancient cultures have a different calendar than the modern one. Chinese New Year is in late January early February, and it is fun fun fun. A week of great eating…mmm…..I think one year you, Tien and I will have to go to Hong Kong to celebrate. My friend has a friend there so we have someone we know there.

      • Your attitude is very positive towards it and I must say I am more than happy to discuss it with you in OPEN AIR ! haha!
        yeah Its like that with some people now adays. I don’t mind if they dont talk over it buh I will surely not regard it nice if they dismiss the subject altogether. It may be that they remember God more than us but in silent they pray yet it would be nice if we all shared a word or two on spirituality now and then.

    • Oh great! It would be fun. I always wanted to see their Dragon dance.
      Our new year also starts earlier than the Georgian calendar. Ramadan is the 9th month of Islamic calendar. Today’s not every Muslim knows that the Georgian new year is late than Islamic new year. They go with the 31st Dec celebrations!

    • And there’s absolutely zero awkwardness. U can ask me anything. I would love to reply. U’re a christian by faith, isn’t it? I do have some info on Christianity, perhaps more than an average Christian. It’s a part of our Religion too. 🙂

      • I am Christian by faith, but think of myself as a spiritual entity. I like to learn through others and their experiences. I am not religious in the sense that I judge or belong to a group or organized religion, but I do believe deeply in God. It’s the way I live my life. I also like to learn about Buddhist philosophy as well as read Confucius sayings. I believe, and this is just me, but we are all seeking the same God, the same enlightenment, we are just taking different paths to the same destination. I think if everyone felt this way we’d have a lot less hatred in the world.

    • That is so true and logical thinking D. I’m glad you are of this mind. Usually people don’t like to talk about religion. They have an excuse of ‘ its extremism n bla bla’ and those who do talk about the creator and would like to reflect on it more with other human beings, people simply shun them because they have no tolerance to listen to other’s theory. My family is not into religion as such but I am. I feel its mandatory for the creation to know about their creator. We humans have logic at least. if we don’t strive now, what’s the use of calling ourselves humans. saying animals would be just fine.

      I heard about Confucius in Sungkyunkwan Scandal. You know, on the mother side, prophet Jesus peace be upon him and Prophet Muhammad P.B.U.H are cousins! We are cousins in that sense D! 🙂

    • Healthy discussions for the sake of knowledge and not revenge are always good. We always end up learning a thing or two. In Quran Allah says, “Say: ‘O People of the Book! come to common terms as between us and you’. So on the basis of this verse, we both can come to common terms and share knowledge! 🙂

      • A lot of people don’t want to speak about spirituality because they think it’s a taboo topic or they may not be interested in it. Of course you don’t know if you may offend someone (which is why I don’t necessarily bring up the topic and brooch it cautiously) because some people can be zealots and unwilling to allow someone to believe something which may be slightly different. Sometimes I hear some things that people of all faith say in the name of God and it makes me a little distraught because I think it’s the person’s excuse to feel a certain way. But that’s just my feeling, and it’s something that I feel but may not speak, because everyone needs to find their own path. I truly believe this.

        I think both what both our beliefs teach us have a bit of the same thinking, be kind to one another and do good things (I may have made that a bit simplified but tell me if you think it’s off). We are all family. And I feel that what I do to another is what I have done to myself. So I think you and I have similar hearts.

      • I really do like sharing thoughts, I think that brings us closer to understanding one another. Even if it differs from the other person, we both know the intention is good. I think that’s how hearts speak to one another, not necessarily through words but through feelings, what we intended for the other person. That you accept the person for what they believe and who they are.

        Isn’t it funny how even within beliefs there are contrary thoughts. Thoughts are respective to the individual. And at the same time it makes each of us so interesting. I love that we can chat about this my friend Pervisha.

    • I too enjoyed chatting on this subject Dear D. You are the first one I noticed who not only reads my somewhat spiritual writings on this blog but also ponder on it. How many people do that ? hardly a few. And it gives me sense of satisfaction when someone says They benefited from what i did or wrote. I feel I am doing my service to the creator.

      • I can understand some people’s hesitation Some people are very passionate about their beliefs or they can be very sensitive, you don’t want to offend anyone or inspire their ire by making some small comment. So rather than take the chance they just keep their mouths shut. But isn’t that true about a lot of people and a lot of things? Hopefully our discussion will help people who were feeling shy contribute to our spiritual discussion.
        I like to think all the good that we do, we do for God, because of God. That we are fulfilling our God purpose. I think even the fact that we are discussing God in a positive way in a public forum is a good act.

      • Well we each have our own journey that we need to take, and everyone takes a different road.

  3. wow, this is just mesmerizing!

  4. I drop a comment each time I appreciate a article on a site or if
    I have something to add to the discussion. Usually
    it’s caused by the fire communicated in the article I looked at. And after this post LUNAR BEAM BEFORE DUST STORM, 5TH RAMADAN 2011. PAKISTAN |. I was excited enough to drop a comment 🙂 I do have a couple of questions for you if it’s okay.
    Could it be simply me or do some of these responses appear like they
    are coming from brain dead individuals? 😛 And, if you are writing at additional sites, I would like to keep up with everything new you
    have to post. Would you list every one of your community sites like your twitter feed, Facebook page or
    linkedin profile?

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

