Bye Bye Uncle…take my flowers with you..

by Khanum

My Uncle from UK is flying back to his home tonight.  And another special thing today was his Lecture at NCA on Rainforest conservation and something something. It’s basically his project from Kent University. So  According to my mother last night and her strict orders that somehow have no influence on me whatsoever , ‘today’ was meant to be ‘UNCLE DAY’ all the way from dawn till dusk.

“Would you get up now or want me to take off your blanket?” I heard a woman’s urgent voice saying something in my dream. Only to my horror, it was my mother standing near my bed in real. Berra Ghark! I had missed the BREAKFAST of the month.

“what time is it?”  I mumbled , my head still pressed over pillow.

“It’s 10.”  And I promised her to get up in exactly 15 mins.

A minute passed. I cast a look on the watch and suddenly it was 12:45.  I really hate it when clocks do that. Really. It drives you crazy how fast the clock runs when you actually want some sleep.

Anyways, having no interest in going to NCA too I made an excuse to sleep some more.

“jshsdduhudxuccudcfdccdceccfd”. This was my excuse.  And such a lame excuse it was , really. Everyone could see I am just mumbling mumbo jumbo in sleep so I can sleep like a dead all day long.

Right at that moment Molvi sahib also decided to give the azaan! Great! Ab tou uthna hi tha. I got up and by the time I offered prayer all were already gone except my mother. Another Great thing. Some peace at home but then my peace was destroyed. When I had entered my uncle’s room and saw all this stuff packed up some left out and everything giving vibes of someone leaving……it felt really strange.

I really felt I had missed great breakfast today morning. I looked at mum and she was peeling carrots to make “gaajar ka halwa for him” and I felt more sad.

Sometimes we miss out small things which make others happy and matter to them. I noticed, Ever since my uncle’s been home from UK, he’s been eating the simplest things and enjoying the simplest things at home that We in general find very ordinary and don’t even enjoy. He loves the flowers. He loves the tea. He loves the food. And he could not get enough of the SUN. He used to move his chair wherever the sunlight went. I asked him oneday why do you not leave the sun alone? .  He smiled and said , In England I have everything. But Not this kind of sun. Not this kind of tea. Not this kind of sounds of the birds at the background when I am sitting with you all in the evening and having “RUSKS”.  And specifically my dear Visha, I don’t have You people.

Ah… how terribly some people abroad – miss home.

Realising all this I decided to photo shoot some things and gift him some shots by the time he’s back from NCA. I went on to take several pictures of ordinary things that he’ll miss there. Flowers in the courtyard and small things which are his memories of  the visit.

Its not like they don’t have flowers there. It’s just – He won’t find the homely flowers anywhere else in the world.

I am not going to see him off at the airport tonight. I will be the oddest one to cry my heart out If I go , I know.

See the next post for photography.

2 Comments to “Bye Bye Uncle…take my flowers with you..”

  1. small little things we take for granted….including the close family bonds we are blessed with!

Leave a Reply

