A word on ‘Baran’

by Khanum

I am writing this post on filmmaking after quite a long time now , probably 2 years, cause I had taken break from this creative side. However, my passion for it never died. Therefore I decided after a long solace that I will return to it one more time.

I saw Baran movie years back at a screening hall with my friends at University. It was a film festival and we were shown outstanding and worth pondering feature films from Korea, Iran and China.

‘The Way Home’ by korean industry won the heart. As for Iran, they pretty much stole the show.

I had never watched iranian cinema before that screening , nor was I into studying filmmaking at that time. Buh oh boy! The storylines and the execution patterns of Iranian cinema are worth praising.We watched 3 Iranian movies altogether, Leila, Children of Heaven and Baran.

‘Children of Heaven’ is a legend in itself. A movie based on a pair of shoes. How could the writer come up with this brilliant idea haan ? 😀 Amazing!

Persian title of the Movie is ‘Bacha-e-Asmaan’. It is an outstanding movie, outstanding example of child stars and incredible yet simple story line by Majid Majidi. Yes, the same well known Iranian Film Director that visited National College of Arts, Lahore few years back.

I have simple appreciation for that movie, but for Baran, I am out of words.There’s no thish thas robots fighting, no superficial or artificial graphics affect. Its pure inspiration and I would admit here, if anything , any film industry inspires me to today to produce something good, halal and simple charming short films, its Iranian cinema. Top list inspiration: Baran.

Here’s a clip I watched while working on my ideas, and refresh my memory.

My review for this is again simple one. Worth Watching.

Even if you have simply zero know-how of technical things of filmmaking like I do, you will still end up enjoying this immensely given the fact that you have ‘class and simple taste’. Notice how the Director plays with the natural sounds in the scene. The extreme close up for extreme registration of emotion and creating depth in the feeling. Symbolism is everywhere.

If you like the clip, I hope you end up watching the full movie. And yes, there are no item songs in this movie. If you are one of those people – then don’t watch.

 

 

2 Comments to “A word on ‘Baran’”

  1. Seriously nothing compares to art movies. Dhishum dhishum movies give you nothing but headache and sense of humour is getting degraded day by day. So a big no-no to aajkal k bollywood movies.
    Children of Heaven seems interesting, will watch it when I get into the mood of movie-marathon. 🙂

Leave a Reply

